Despicable Me 2 vs Animation Snob

9 07 2013

Hey, I almost forgot! I saw Despicable Me 2 this weekend. In the interests of maintaining some semblance of occasional timeliness, here’s what I thought.

It was good. Funny gags, lots of minion stuff, adoption thread that continues to wreck me emotionally. My one complaint is that Lucy, the female lead, was poorly characterized. Her mix of secret agent skillz and sunny goofiness was just bland. I didn’t much care about her and didn’t buy her as a longtime villain fan. I blame clichéd animation techniques. If Lucy had been designed and animated with more restraint, taking more cues from Kristin Wiig’s style of understated lunacy, she could have brought much more to the table.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

