Wrapping Up My Comic Buying Experiment

30 12 2011

In September, I decided to get on board DC’s title-wide relaunch by subscribing to about a dozen comics through my local comic shop (see this post). In October, I learned that the store would be closing its doors January 1st. I’m very sad to see Karen’s Comics go out of business, but I wouldn’t have held onto my subscriptions for much longer anyway. The single issues are a nice way to get a wide sample of titles, but I much prefer to read and collect the trade paperbacks (single volume reprints that collect 6 or 7 issues, for the uninitiated). Of all the New 52 titles I read, here are the ones I would buy in trade paperback form:

Animal Man. The clear standout of the New 52, with sophisticated writing, wonderfully weird artwork, and building to a crossover with

Swamp Thing. The strange relationship between the monster and secret identity make the character more interesting than ever.

Action Comics. written by Grant Morisson, so you can’t go wrong. The focus is on Superman, but much of the DC universe mythology is rooted here, along with

Justice League. It’s more fun (and more economical) to get all the heavy hitters in one book, especially one written by Geoff Johns.

Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.DE. I really enjoyed the first four issues of this. I can see it easily going off the rails very quickly, but I’m hoping it doesn’t.

The Flash and Stormwatch didn’t grab me at first, but I ended up liking them a lot. Justice League Dark was also good. Those three I will try to get from the library as trade paperbacks. I liked the first issue or two of Batman, Green Lantern, Captain Atom, and The Savage Hawkman, but by issue 4 I didn’t much care anymore. It was fun reading all these books as they came out; I’m almost never up-to-date on my pop culture consumption. However it also became very easy to obsess over the books and the DC universe. I was reading lots of reviews as well as the comics, and feeling uncomfortably devoted to this strange, insular world of comic fandom, which craves expansion yet shuns outsiders. More on that later, maybe.

I feel I should also mention Ultimate Comics Spider-Man, which launched about the same time as the New 52. I always knew I would pursue this one in trade paperback, so I ignored the monthly issues at first, but they got such rave reviews and represent such a momentous shift (the first non-Peter Parker Spider-Man, who is a non-white Spider-Man to boot) that I ended up buying the first two. And I may go ahead and buy 3, 4 and 5 on Marcie’s new iPad. It’s really good stuff.

Actions

Information

One response

4 11 2015
Universes: The Point | Taking It Too Seriously

[…] to get familiar with the large canvases of both the DC and Marvel universes (see some other recent posts). Both publishing houses encourage that approach, through big crossover events and universe-wide […]

Leave a Reply

