Why I Prefer Democrats

14 09 2010

cartoon by Thomas Nast

I hesitate to call myself a Democrat. The party almost always disappoints. But if I learned one thing during the Bush years, it’s that the Republicans can make things worse than I could ever imagine.

I ran across this line in a Paul Krugman column, which articulates a crucial difference between the parties:

“More broadly, if Republicans regain power, they will surely do what they did during the Bush years: they won’t seriously try to address the economy’s troubles; they’ll just use those troubles as an excuse to push the usual agenda…”

Full column here

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

