It’s the end of Lost, and I feel fine

20 05 2010

Spoilers? Probably, but if you’re not caught up by now, it’s not going to matter.

In a little over 72 hours, the last ever episode of Lost will air. I don’t know about you, but I don’t feel the least bit bad about it. Yes, I love the show, but it’s been on for six years. For a show that demands such a commitment, that’s long enough.

I have only gleeful anticipation. No sadness that the show will end. All shows end, and only very rarely when they should. No anxiety over whether the ending will be any good. It’s already good. We still don’t know all the answers, but I’m entirely satisfied with the answers we do have. All that’s left is the characters, doing what they do, being who they are. Even though the finale is sure to be harrowing and disastrous, I feel like I’m going to a party.

I’ve had a strong reaction to the villains of Lost, especially Ben in seasons 2 and 3. I’m sort of embarrassed at how much mouth-frothing hatred he inspired in me. It was all the pointless withholding of information! Over and over again, our hapless castaways ask what the hell is going on, only to be brushed off or have guns waved in their faces. First it was Ethan trying to kidnap Claire. Then it was Tom (Tom!!! Who I STILL hate more than I ever did Ben!!!) claiming ownership of the island. Always with the threats and the mysteriousness, which on top of being hostile is condescending.

The castaways have fought their way into one circle of knowledge after another, always finding more questions. And always, whatever jerk was holding out on them turns out to be just as clueless as they are. All the way up to Jacob and Smokey and their Mother, everyone is muddling along with incomplete understanding and tainted motivations. And now all the air has gone out of my hatred, and all teeth-gnashing frustration is at an end. Pretty much every withholding jerk was only pretending to have any meaningful knowledge. I don’t know why, but that makes it all better.

So now this astounding show has not only maintained the escalating answers-raising-questions for six seasons, it has brought me to a place where I sympathize with everyone, and the conflict is still riveting. At the end of season 5 I felt the creators would have to balance on a razor’s edge to keep the story successful. Now I feel like no matter what happens in the finale, it can’t fail.

See you Sunday…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

